June 11 - 17  2023: Issue 587


Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club: 2022-2023 Annual Yachting Awards Presentation

Friday June 2nd 2023 saw the Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club celebrating their Yacht Racing Series for 2022-23 with the Annual Award Presentation for winners, placegetters and Special Awards.

The night was a fun and festive, Pirate themed celebration with everyone in attendance treated to an entertaining sing-along! 

You can read more about the awards in the 2022-23 Presentation Handbook HERE 

As part of the presentation, the RPAYC recognises members of our sailing community with Special Awards across most wins, best participation, Offshore Sailor of the Year, She Sails, Club Volunteer of the Year, Club Yachtsman of the Year Award and Best performing Club Yacht.

Colin "Fossil" White Gun Boat Trophy - Awarded to the boat with the most race wins on scratch without winning their fleet in a Saturday Pointscore Series - REVOLVER – Michael Ritchie 

Participation Award - Awarded for participation in most club events - PUFF – Scott Robinson – 78 Races

Trygve Halvorsen Trophy – Mark Griffiths

This year’s Offshore Sailor of the Year goes to someone who has seen success throughout the clubs offshore season and campaigning along the coast from Hobart to Gladstone. Old School Racing campaigned the RPAYC Bluewater Series, then from the Pittwater to Coffs Harbour Race continued up the coast to compete in the Brisbane to Gladstone Race. Mark also jumped on to the TP52 Zen as Watch leader to compete in the Rolex Sydney to Hobart Race.

SheSails Award – Alison Hobbs

Alison has spent the last 4 or so years building her confidence to compete in her and husband, Dave’s yacht Quantock in the 2022 Rolex Sydney to Hobart Race. Ali has skippered the boat in club racing, only female division 1 skipper, taking on the Inshore, SOPs and Bluewater races at RPAYC. Then in the build up to the Hobart race competed in the Pittwater to Coffs Harbour Race, Noakes Sydney to Gold Coast Race, Flinders Island Race, Cabbage Tree Island Race and then the Rolex Sydney to Hobert Race. An inspiration to all female skippers and potential skippers. 

Club Volunteer of the Year Award – Tony Nossiter

Awarded for outstanding voluntary contribution. This years winner Tony has been auditing boats at the RPAYC since approximately 2008. He is very thorough and reliable while being very personable and helpful to owners and the sailing office. He brings a huge amount of knowledge and experience and is often available last minute to help owners complete the paperwork to be eligible to take part in racing. He completes a lot of audits and follow ups where required. 40 audits over the last 2 years alone, plus all the returns to follow up on missing, out of date and out of compliance items. A real unsung hero of our racing.

Honourable Achievement Award – Richard Hudson

Richard has introduced and nurtured offshore crew within the club for many years. Giving opportunities to our youth sailors to get offshore experience within a competitive crew while maintaining a safe and inclusive environment. Richard has helped nurture their talents and grow their skills – from the bow to the stern of the boat, helming, trimming and navigating. Passing on vast experience to the next generation.

The Master Mariner William Henry Stannard Trophy for Outstanding Seamanship – Rob Buchanan

When on delivery back to Sydney from Hobart Showtime suffered catastrophic keel failure – Rob Buchanan’s survival instinct and training kicked in. Trapped below decks with the off watch – he remained calm, assessed the situation and the escape route ensuring it was clear. Kept the crew calm and helped them escape the upturned hull. The crew gathered – fortunately alive and with no life-threatening injuries they freed the life raft and entered it.

The survival of the crew, while no doubt they all played their part, was certainly enhanced by Rob’s experience and ability to keep everyone together and calm.

Club Yachtsman of the Year Award - Chris Way – Winner of the 2022 Worrell 1000 Race.

There are some events that sound a bit CRAZY and then there is sailing 1000nm offshore in an off the beach catamaran. That is the Worrell 1000. A staged event, 1000nm along the United States coastline between Florida and Virginia.

In May 2022 that is exactly what Chris Way and Rod Waterhouse set out to do. As with everything that Chris does, not only did he want to compete and finish, he set out to win. 

In a race that was predominantly upwind – making it even more epic – that is exactly what they did.

Alan Rich Trophy - Awarded to the Best performing club yacht - TRANSCENDENCE CRENTO - Martin and John Cross

Preparing and campaigning a new boat takes a lot of energy and work. Add a new discipline, Two-Handed Offshore Racing, new crew – John Cross (son) back to competitive racing - the results they have achieved have been fantastic.

Cleaning up in the RPAYC offshore series and being at the front of the CYCA Bluewater Two-Handed Series

• 18th IRC Overall

• 6th IRC 2

• 3rd IRC & ORC 2handed

• 10th ORC Overall

• 5th ORC 2

• 2nd PHS 2 Handed

Congratulations to all of the well-deserving special award recipients!

Below run some photos from the Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club: 2022-2023 Annual Yachting Awards Presentation as presented by RPAYC Commodore Allen Stormon and Rear Commodore Yachting Robert McClelland.

Images by RPAYC