October 14 - 20, 2018: Issue 379



 Xavier Bryce (Mona Vale) - photo by Ethan Smith/Surfing NSW


Monday, 8 October 2018

The Woolworths Surfer Groms Comps Series presented by Pic’s Peanut Butter saw seven new champions crowned today following an exciting day of surfing in playful two-foot beachbreaks. 

Dembe Ryan’s (Lennox Head, NSW) decision to site wide of his fellow finalists paid dividends in the Under-14 Boys final as he proceeded to find punchy corners on the low-tide. Ryan nailed a handful of impressive forehand snaps in the final to post a 14.27 two-wave heat total and take the top spot on the dais. 

Local surfer Rosie Smart (Sawtell, NSW) continued her heat winning momentum, taking out the Under-14 Girls. Smart surfed a well-rounded heat, nailing a handful of impressive snaps to post a 13.66 two-wave heat total to claim the title convincingly. 

Northern Beaches native Fletcher Kelleher (Freshwater, NSW) claimed his hat-trick of Woolworths Surfer Groms Comps victories, taking out the Under-12 Boys division. Following his victories at event one and two of the series, Kelleher was able to make it three-from-three at Coffs Harbour, posting a respectable 14.5 two-wave heat total to snatch the lead from Novocastrian Felix Byrnes (Merewether, NSW) who claimed the runner-up spot. 

Fletcher Kelleher- photos by Ethan Smith/Surfing NSW

Nina Lawson (Scotts Head, NSW) claimed a clean-sweep of wins across the Under-10 dual finals to earn her place in the winner's circle. Lawson’s campaign hit its stride in the second final when she threw down a decent 13.17 two-wave heat total to cement her spot as the overall champ.  

Following his standout performance yesterday, Max McGillvray (Evans Head, NSW) continued his dominance of the Under-10 Boys, nailing a massive 18.03 two-wave heat total. McGillvray surfed well beyond his years, punching out a healthy mix of carves and snaps to leave his fellow finalists needing two-wave combinations to take away his lead. 

At only five-years old Leihani Kaloha Zoric (Byron Bay, NSW) showed she was a star on the rise as she dominated the Under-10 Girls division. Zoric took off on a handful of waves that stood well overhead to post a 14.16 two-wave heat total. As a result Zoric was awarded the Pic’s Peanut Butter Performer Award for the second day of competition. 

Leihani Zoric- photos by Ethan Smith/Surfing NSW

Luca Martin (Coffs Harbour, NSW) ensured a title would remain in the Coffs region, taking out the Under-8 Mixed division. Martin posted a near-perfect nine-point ride to keep his fellow finalists at arm’s length and claim the win ahead of Jasper Glossop (Broadwater, WA) who finished in the runner-up spot.

The main base for event three of the Woolworths Surfer Groms Comps Series presented by Pic’s Peanut Butter was Macauleys and Park Beach.  

Regarded as one of the major stepping stones in the development of young Australian surfers, the 10-event Woolworths Surfer Groms Comps Series presented by Pic’s Peanut Butter caters for surfers from Under 8 to Under 14 and will be held in New South Wales, Queensland, Victoria, Western Australia, Tasmania and South Australia over summer. 

As an added bonus, the respective winners of the Under 14 boys’ and girls’ divisions from each event will receive an invite to attend an all-expenses-paid, three-day Woolworths Surf Camp at the Surfing Australia High-Performance Centre (HPC). For the South Australian, Victorian and Tasmanian events, the Woolworths Surf Camp prize will be awarded to the highest place Under-14 Boy and Girl who reside in that respective State. 

Specialty awards to be provided at each event include the Woolworths Fresh Wave (boy & girl), Pic’s Peanut Butter Star Performers (boy & girl) and AirAsia Air of the Day. 

Each entrant will also receive a Woolworths Surfer Groms Comps Series presented by Pic’s Peanut surfboard sock for entering. 

The Woolworths Surfer Groms Comps Series presented by Pic’s Peanut Butter has helped to launch the careers of many of Australia's most promising junior surfers with almost 800 children set to take part in the 2018/19 event series. 

Under-14 Boys

1 – Dembe Ryan (Lennox Head, NSW)
2 – Nate Hopkins (Noraville, NSW)
3 – Xavier Bryce (Mona Vale, NSW)
4 – Harry O’Brien (Lennox Head, NSW)

Under-14 Girls
1 – Rosie Smart (Sawtell, NSW)
2 – Bella Morrison  (Coffs Harbour, NSW)
3 – Bonnie Hills (Mullaway, NSW)
4 – Indi Klaus (Coffs Harbour, NSW)

Under-12 Boys
1 – Fletcher Kelleher (Freshwater, NSW)
2 – Felix Byrnes (Merewether, NSW)
3 – Creed Smart (Sawtell, NSW)
4 – Lachlan Smith (Newcastle, NSW)

Under-12 Girls
1 – Nina Lawson (Scotts Head, NSW)
2 – Mia Waite (Noosa Heads, Qld)
3 – Mia Baker (Lennox Head, NSW)

Under-10 Boys
1 – Max McGillvray (Evans Head, NSW)
2 – Ocean Lancaster (Merewether, NSW)
3 – Harper McIntosh (Toormina, NSW)
4 – Fletcher O’Sullivan (Sawtell, NSW)

Under-10 Girls
1 – Leihani Kaloha Zoric (Byron Bay, NSW)
2 – Madeline Schomberg (Bonville, NSW)
3 – Gracie Kennedy (Mullaway, NSW)
4 – Madora Barton (Maclean, NSW)

Under-8 Mixed
1 – Luca Martin (Coffs Harbour, NSW)
2 – Jasper Glossop (Broadwater, WA)
3 – Joel Maritz (Tugan, Qld)
4 – Max Crowley (Coffs Harbour, NSW)

Woolworths Fresh Wave Award
Day One: Rosie Smart (Sawtell, NSW)
Day Two: Harry O’Brien (Lennox Head, NSW)

Pic’s Peanut Butter Performer Award:
Day One: Max McGillvray (Evans Head, NSW)
Day Two: Leihani Kaloha Zoric (Byron Bay, NSW)

AirAsia Wave Of The Day
Day One: Ocean Lancaster (Newcastle, NSW)
Day Two: Nina Lawson (Scotts Head, NSW)

Woolworths Surfer Groms Comps 2018/2019 Series presented by Pic’s Peanut Butter schedule:

EVENT 1 - Cronulla, NSW - Sept 1 - 2, 2018
EVENT 2 - Northern Beaches, NSW - Sept 8 - 9, 2018
EVENT 3 - Coffs Harbour, NSW - Oct 7 - 8, 2018
EVENT 4 - Kiama, NSW - Oct 13 - 14, 2018
EVENT 5 - Fleurieu Peninsula, SA - Nov 3, 2018
EVENT 6 - Ocean Grove, VIC - Nov 17 - 18, 2018
EVENT 7 - Sunshine Coast, QLD - Dec 8 - 9, 2018
EVENT 8 - Gold Coast, QLD - Jan 9 - 10, 2019
EVENT 9 -Trigg, WA - Jan 26 - 27, 2019
EVENT 10 - Clifton Beach, TAS - Feb 23, 2019ED

Rosie Smart (Sawtell) - photo by Ethan Smith/Surfing NSW

Bella Morrison  (Coffs Harbour) - photo by Ethan Smith/Surfing NSW

Dembe Ryan (Lennox Head) - photo by Ethan Smith/Surfing NSW

Nate Hopkins (Noraville) - photo by Ethan Smith/Surfing NSW