June 23 - 29, 2024: Issue 629


North Narrabeen Boardriders Club Win the 2024 Heavyweight Rumble

Finalists from the day - North Narrabeen, Avoca, Frenchmans and North Avalon. Photo: James Robinson/ Surfing NSW

Sunday June 16 2024 marked the completion of a new club event  - The Ryde Heavyweight Rumble, hosted by Surfing NSW and URBNSURF! This was the first-ever Sydney boardriders competition held in a surf park, where we saw an inter-club competition like no other. With 32 clubs taking to the pool, it was North Narrabeen Boardriders Club who walked away with the champions belt and $15,000 in prize money.

It was a day to remember as surfers from all over NSW came together for an epic day of surfing and fun. With perfect waves and an electric atmosphere, the event showcased incredible talent, sportsmanship, and the vibrant surfing community spirit. All teams brought their A game and no one left without a smile. 

Local teams taking part included NASA, Newport Plus BRC, Bungan BRC, Mona Vale BRC, North Narrabeen BRC, North Steyne BRC, Queenscliff, Long Reef BRC, Curly United, and the Dee Why Surf Fraternity.

Sydney's new Urbnsurf Wavepool, known for its consistency and customisable waves, provided the ideal setting for this high-octane competition. Unlike the unpredictable ocean, the wavepool delivered perfect swell for every heat, ensuring a level playing field for all 32 teams. Giving athletes the chance at scoring waves on the advanced and expert (barrel) setting. Spectators were treated to a close-up view of the action, with every carve, cutback, and tube executed right before their eyes.

The day featured 32 teams from NSW. Teams travelled from as far as North Ballina to compete at this special event. Each team composed of five surfers of varying experience levels, included some seasoned professionals, enthusiastic amateurs, and rising young stars, all united by their passion for surfing and their club. This mix of talent made for thrilling heats and surprising upsets throughout the day. 

The day kicked off with an energetic opening ceremony, as many athletes were witnessing the dreamland pool for the first time. The day then filled with action both in and out of the pool. We had music, dancing, drinking and cheering coming from all angles. Midway through the event, the competition intensified. With Quarter and Semi-Finals the pressure was on. The crowd roared as surfers stepped up to the plate. As we moved over to just the right side of the pool, the left was looking a bit lonely and no one likes to see an empty lineup with perfect waves rolling through. So we decided it was only right to gift Deewhy Surf Fraternity a spot for an hour as they were the highest scoring third place Round One finishers who had been knocked out of competition. After that, unfortunately it was Boardrider Clubs Scarborough and North Shelly who just missed out on spots in the final, placing close thirds in their desired semi's. 

NASA' s Letty Mortenson

As the sun set, the awards ceremony honoured the top teams along with some novelty awards. The 2x Australian Boardriders Battle (ABB) champions North Narrabeen came away victorious over Avoca, Frenchmans and North Avalon (NASA) in a close-call final. 

One award that got the crew laughing was Ryde's $1000 Wipeout Award which went to Hugo Spindler, the junior surfer for runner's up Avoca Boardriders Club who was said to be 'eaten up' by a barrel in the final. Following that it was our club from the Central Coast Wamberal Express Boardriders (WEB) who were recognised as bringing the most excitement, enthusiasm and sportsman-like behaviour and rewarded with extra pool time for a 'teams spirit' award. 

Surfing NSW extends our heartfelt thanks to all participants, sponsors, workers and spectators who made this event possible. Your support is what makes the surfing community so special. We are already looking forward to doing it all again. 

We want to specifically thank our naming partners at Ryde: Your Rhythm for supporting grassroots surfing, and we're excited for them to connect with out boardriders community to enhance the experience beyond the waves.

"Ryde had partnered with SNSW this year to bring fun and wellbeing to the surfers community. Recognising the dynamic and ever changing spirit of surfing, Ryde's on a mission to deliver ENERGY, FOCUS and RELAX to help surfers with whatever the ocean throws at them. 60mL wellbeing Rude shots - that's what you need to ride the wave!"

Final Results below; for a list of all results visit here

First - North Narrabeen Boardriders Club
Open - Davey Cathels
Open - Jordy Lawler
Female - Sienna Hinwood
Junior - Archie McKerrell
Master - Christo Hall

Second - Avoca Boardriders Club
Open - Lennox Chell
Open - Sandon Whittaker
Female - Talia Tebb
Junior - Hugo Spindler
Master - Beau Atchison

Third - Frenchman's Boardriders Club
Open - Ethan Hartge
Open - Jordy Liackman
Female - Kyla Renes
Junior - Corey Robards
Master - Dan Frodsham

Fourth - North Avalon Surfriders Association (NASA)
Open - Letty Mortenson
Open - Fraser Dovell
Female - Ali Ockwell
Junior - Isaiah Vaealiki
Master - Shane Carroll

Report: Hunter Roberts/Surfing NSW. Photos: James Robinson/ Surfing NSW

Newport Plus BRC team: Rene Galloway, Yana Marks, Dylan Fawle, Danny Asmus and Haz Musgrove; ''A valiant effort from our team in the Urbnsurf Heavyweight Rumble.

Unfortunately we didn’t get the result we were hoping for, but we take it all in our stride and get ready for next one. It was an epic day and an exciting look at the future of boardriders battle. Thanks again to our team for having a crack and making our club proud and thanks to our supporters who came out to cheers us on. #uptheport.''

Bungan BRC Team; William Pascoe, Freddy Chid, Milla Brown, Mitch Robertson Mckay, Darcy Crump (P).

Mona Vale BRC Team: Harry Stevenson, Jet Lay, Neil Berrell, Maya Atkinson, Jasper Welsh