November 8 - 14, 2020: Issue 473


Gigantic day of surfing for the Volkswagen Tradies Surfmasters  2020

Women's Presentation - photo by Jaxon Brown/Surfing NSW


Saturday, 7 November 2020

Report by Surfing NSW

Cronulla Beach saw an action-packed day of surf and lifestyle action with the Volkswagen Tradies Surfmasters, Volkswagen Kombi Rally and Battle of the Shire pres. by FCS all wrapping up following a day of unpredictable weather and surf at Cronulla.

Local competitors Hayden Blair, Nichola Turner and Glenn Pringle all flew the flag for the Cronulla locals taking wins in their respective divisions. All three surfers showed their competence in the shifty beachbreak conditions, punching a handful of giant snaps and carves to claim respective victories. 

Kelvin Hawkins (Soldiers Point) and Jamie Doran (Anna Bay) both did the Port Stephens region proud, taking out the Over-55 Men and Single Fin division. Both surfers negotiated the bumps and chop that plagued the lineup over the duration of the final to claim top honours and head back to Port Stephens with their head held high.

Cronulla Sharks Boardriders took out the Battle of the Shire pres. by FCS against a handful of stellar teams from the Sutherland Shire. Thanks to some stellar surfing from the likes of Jordan Turansky, Hayden Blair and Jay Brown the club were able to overcome Elouera, Sandshoes, Christian Surfers, Garie, Cronulla Point and Cronulla Girls to take top honours. 

Former Australian National Rugby League players Andrew “Joey” Johns and Mark Gasnier both represented local clubs alongside the team from Three Blue Ducks. 

All clubs represented various mental health awareness providers, with prize money being donated to Surfing NSW’s Mental Health 360 partners. 

All results can be seen below. 

The elite two-day Australian Open of Surfing event will get underway from the Sunday, 8th – Monday, 9th November 2020 and bookend an exciting long weekend of surfing in the Sutherland Shire that began with the Volkswagen Tradies Surfmasters, Battle of the Shire pres. by FCS Volkswagen Kombi Rally and on Saturday, 7th November 2020. 

The one-day saw close to 100 of NSW’s best short boarders aged Over-28 competing on the southern Sydney beach.

The event saw five age divisions being contested with the Over-28 Men, Over-35 Men and Women, Over-45 Men and Women, Over-55 Men and Over-65 Men all competing. 

Several notable entrants surfing in the event were former Australian Title winners. 

The 2020 Volkswagen Tradies Surfmasters was proudly supported by Volkswagen Commercial Vehicles Australia, Tradies, Highland Property Group, Beach Burrito, Rydges Cronulla, FCS, Sutherland Shire Council and Surfing NSW. 

Belinda Koorey (Manly Vale) - photo by Jaxon Brown/Surfing NSW


Over 28 Men

4th Reiss Hunt (Cronulla)

3rd Kevin Rhodes (Balgownie)

2nd Jordan Windenstorm (Cronulla)

1st Hayden Blair (Cronulla)


Over 28 Women

4th Samantha Oakes (Carlton)

3rd Talina Nelson (Cronulla)

2nd Belinda Koorey (Manly Vale)

1st Nichola Turner (Cronulla)


Over 35 Men

4th Kieran White (Newport)

3rd Michael Crisp (Lennox Head)

2nd Kevin Rhodes (Balgownie)

1st Paul Snow (Merewether)


Over 45 Men

4th Mark Tickle (Newport)

3rd Keiran White (Newport)

2nd  Paul Snow (Merewether)

1st Glenn Pringle (Cronulla)


Over 45 Women

5th Melissa Hatheier (Cronulla)

4th Rebecca Neil (Taren Point)

3rd Susan Levett (Manly)

2nd Akemi Oleary (Cronulla)

1st Belinda Koorey (Manly Vale)


Over 55 Men

4th Mark Gobbe (Mona Vale)

3rd Michael Pitt (Wolli Creek)

2nd Michael Hoysted (Fern Bay)

1st Kelvin Hawkins (Soldiers Point)


Over 65 Men

3rd Kevin Hall (Sylvania)

2nd Jonathon Lavers (Cronulla)

1st Wayne Roach (Merimbula)


Single Fin

5th Rebecca Neil (Taren Point)

4th Samantha Oakes (Carlton)

3rd Matt Cook (Cronulla)

2nd Michael Crisp (Lennox Head)

1st Jamie Doran (Anna Bay)

Battle of the Shire pres. by FCS

7th Place Cronulla Girls Boardriders

6th Place Cronulla Point

5th Place Garie Beach

4th place Christian Surfers

3rd place Sandshoes

2nd place Elouera

1st place Cronulla Sharks