June 5 - 11, 2022: Issue 541


Prime Minister of Australia, the Hon. Anthony Albanese, Announces first full Ministry

The Governor-General of the Commonwealth of Australia is His Excellency General the Honourable David Hurley AC DSC (Retd). with The Hon. .Anthony Albanese, Prime Minister of Australia and sworn-in Ministers of the new Labor Government.

The Prime Minister the Hon. Anthony Albanese announced his Government’s first full Ministry on May 31st, 2022.

The Hon. Anthony Albanese stated:

''Today Labor has claimed the 77th seat in the House of Representatives with the re-election of Fiona in the seat of Gilmore. What that means is that the Coalition failed to take a single seat from the Australian Labor Party at the election just finished. And it confirms indeed that Labor will be a majority Government when Parliament resumes in July.

Today our Caucus has met and elected a frontbench to serve in the forthcoming Government that I'm proud to lead.''

On May 30th, 2022 the Appointment of Professor Glyn Davis AC as Secretary of the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet was announced:

On the recommendation of the Prime Minister, the Hon. Anthony Albanese MP, the Governor‑General today appointed Professor Glyn Davis AC as the new Secretary of the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet.

Professor Davis currently serves as CEO of the Paul Ramsay Foundation, Australia’s largest philanthropic trust. Professor Davis served on the panel led by David Thodey to review the Australian Public Service.

Professor Davis has had a long and distinguished career in both academia and public service, having served as Director-General of the Queensland Department of Premier and Cabinet from 1998 until 2002, before moving to Vice-Chancellor roles at both Griffith University and the University of Melbourne. He holds emeritus roles at universities around the world, and has served as Chair of the Group of Eight, Chair of Universities Australia and Chair of Universitas 21. In 2010, Professor Davis delivered the Boyer Lectures on the theme The Republic of Learning.

Prime Minister Albanese has welcomed the appointment of Professor Davis.

“Professor Davis will bring to the role of Secretary a deep understanding of public policy and will work with my Government in bringing about positive change for the Australian people,” he said.

The Prime Minister thanked Philip Gaetjens for his service to the Australian public, both as Secretary of the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet since August 2019, and across a distinguished 45-year career of public service.

Professor Davis will commence his five-year appointment on 6 June 2022.

On June 1st the Albanese Ministry was sworn in and the following statement was made:

Following the swearing-in of the full ministry today we announce the following departmental and administrative changes that will help deliver better government for all Australians. These changes will take effect on 1 July 2022.

A new Department of Employment and Workplace Relations will be created to implement and administer the Government’s workplace relations, jobs, skills and training agenda.

A new Department of Climate Change, Energy, the Environment and Water will be created to deliver the Government’s job-creating climate change and energy agenda and give Australia’s environment the protection it deserves.

Reflecting key priorities of the Government the Department of Health will be renamed the Department of Health and Aged Care and the Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Communications will be renamed the Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development, Communications and the Arts.

The Department of Finance will gain responsibility for data policy, including the Digital Transformation Agency, as well as de-regulation.

The Department of Home Affairs will gain responsibility for natural disaster response and mitigation, including the National Recovery and Resilience Agency.

The Attorney-General’s portfolio will gain responsibility for criminal law enforcement and policy, including the Australian Federal Police.

The new Administrative Arrangements Orders will be published on Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet later today.


The Hon. Anthony Albanese MP Prime Minister
The Hon. Richard Marles MP         Deputy Prime Minister, Minister for Defence
Senator the Hon. Penny Wong Minister for Foreign Affairs
The Hon. Dr Jim Chalmers MP Treasurer
Senator the Hon. Katy Gallagher Minister for Finance, Minister for the Public Service, Minister for Women
Senator the Hon. Don Farrell         Minister for Trade and Tourism, Special Minister of State
The Hon. Tony Burke MP         Minister for Employment and Workplace Relations, Minister for the Arts
The Hon. Mark Butler MP         Minister for Health and Aged Care
The Hon. Chris Bowen MP         Minister for Climate Change and Energy
The Hon. Tanya Plibersek MP Minister for the Environment and Water
The Hon. Catherine King MP         Minister for Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Local Government
The Hon. Linda Burney MP         Minister for Indigenous Australians
The Hon. Amanda Rishworth MP Minister for Social Services
The Hon. Bill Shorten MP         Minister for the National Disability Insurance Scheme, Minister for Government Services
The Hon. Mark Dreyfus QC MP Attorney-General, Cabinet Secretary
The Hon. Brendan O’Connor MP Minister for Skills and Training
The Hon. Jason Clare MP         Minister for Education
The Hon. Julie Collins MP         Minister for Housing, Minister for Homelessness, Minister for Small Business
Michelle Rowland MP                 Minister for Communications
Madeleine King MP                         Minister for Resources, Minister for Northern Australia
Senator Murray Watt                 Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry, Minister for Emergency Management
Ed Husic MP                                 Minister for Industry and Science
Clare O’Neil MP                         Minister for Home Affairs, Minister for Cyber Security

Outer Ministry

Matt Keogh MP Minister for Veterans’ Affairs, Minister for Defence Personnel
Pat Conroy MP Minister for Defence Industry, Minister for International Development and the Pacific
Stephen Jones MP Assistant Treasurer, Minister for Financial Services
Andrew Giles MP Minister for Immigration, Citizenship and Multicultural Affairs
Anne Aly MP         Minister for Early Childhood Education, Minister for Youth
Anika Wells MP Minister for Aged Care, Minister for Sport
Kristy McBain MP Minister for Regional Development, Local Government and Territories

Assistant Ministers

The Hon. Justine Elliot MP         Assistant Minister for Social Services, Assistant Minister for the Prevention of Family Violence
The Hon. Matt Thistlethwaite MP Assistant Minister for Defence, Assistant Minister for Veterans’ Affairs, Assistant Minister for the Republic
The Hon. Dr Andrew Leigh MP Assistant Minister for Competition, Charities and Treasury
Patrick Gorman MP                         Assistant Minister to the Prime Minister
Senator Jenny McAllister         Assistant Minister for Climate Change and Energy
Senator Carol Brown                 Assistant Minister for Infrastructure and Transport
Ged Kearney MP                         Assistant Minister for Health and Aged Care
Emma McBride MP                         Assistant Minister for Mental Health, Assistant Minister for Rural and Regional Health
Senator Malarndirri McCarthy        Assistant Minister for Indigenous Australians, Assistant Minister for Indigenous Health
Senator Tim Ayres                        Assistant Minister for Trade, Assistant Minister for Manufacturing
Senator Anthony Chisholm            Assistant Minister for Education, Assistant Minister for Regional Development
Tim Watts MP                               Assistant Minister for Foreign Affairs