December 10, 2023 - January 20, 2024: Issue 609


Champions Crowned at the 2023 Australian SUP Titles

18 athletes starting in the SUP Technical Race at Sussex Inlet. Image: Phill McCudden / PM Ocean Images

The 2023 Australian SUP Titles kicked off on Wednesday December 6 in small but contestable waves at Mollymook Beach.

Winds picked up slightly mid-morning but backed off throughout the day, with plenty of waves caught during the early heats, and some high quality surfing including by KealeDorries (QLD) and IndyRose (NSW).

Two rounds of the Open Women, Open Men, O40 Men, O40 Women and O50 Men LB SUP were completed, with Rylie Kay (SA) posting the highest heat total, a 13.66 (out of a possible 20), in Open Men.

Father daughter duo, Hannah and Richard Finlay-Jones (NSW) posted the same heat total in their respective divisions, Open Women and O60 10ft SUP, to progress to tomorrow. Richard also achieved the highest single wave score of the day, an 8.17 (out of a possible 10).

The opening rounds of O50 Men, 10ft Open Men, 10ft Open Women, O50 Women, O40 Women LB SUP, O60 10ft SUP were also completed.

Skyla Rayner (NSW) said: “Today was a successful day, making the most of some marginal conditions and getting through a lot of heats. We had to take the contest to Mollymook Beach to escape the southerly winds and it was a great decision, with small, clean waves for most of the day.”

Sussex Inlet was the expected location for Thursday’s heats, with another big day of surfing planned.

On Friday December 6 the first champions of the 2023 Australian SUP Titles were determined at Sussex Inlet.

17 athletes were crowned new Australian Champions across SUP Surfing and Technical racing. NSW were currently clinching the overall state points, however NSW athletes needed the marathon results to finalise the champion state. 

Surfing Australia's Event Specialist Rohan Fell reflects on the conditions: "Finals day today was much to everyone’s surprise as the south-east swell continued to pulse throughout the day despite the opposing North East winds. We saw a groomed A-frame peak in the 2 foot range for all competitors. The open men and women were greeted with some 3 foot sets for their finals".

Champions of 11 divisions have been decided in SUP Surfing, with Shoalhaven local and defending champion Skyla Rayner (NSW) posting the highest heat total, a 15.60 (out of a possible 20),  which got her the win in the Open Women Finals.

Rayner said: "I was super stoked to win this year, and grateful to be claiming an Australian Title in my hometown", 

Skyla also mentioned: 

"It was special to win alongside my partner Wes Fry."

Fry (NSW) won the Open Men Surfing division with a 15.40 total.

Wes Fry recently brought home silver for the Irukandjis in SUP Surfing at the ISA World SUP and Paddleboard Championship.

He finished runner-up in the Open Men’s division at the Australian SUP Titles last year and was hoping to take the win this time.

Fry said: “I’m really excited to be back competing with some great friends. I’ve spent lots of time in this region and love the feel of the place and the waves on offer. I’m sure we are going to score.''

18 athletes started in the Technical SUP Race in the afternoon. Jonathan Hagan (QLD) finishes first in Open Men after 12:38 minutes, marking the best time of the day, with 01:17 minutes ahead of second best place Lee Johnson (NSW) who competed in O50 Men. Another standout performance was Richard Finlay-Jones (NSW) who competed in Prone Open Men and finished with the 9th best time of the day (16:38 minutes).

The SUP Marathon Race was held Saturday December 9 at Sussex Inlet. 18 athletes competed in the 13 km Marathon Race starting from the north of Callala Bay and finishing in Huskisson. As the first heat wave of the summer hit the South Coast, the decision was made to start the race early to avoid the peak heat, yet allow for some down wind conditions.  

Surfing Australia's Event Specialist Rohan Fell said: "It was QLD’s Johnathan Hagan and NSW’s Ty Judson looking to go head to head in the Open Men finishing just 2 minutes apart across the 13km course. Judson (NSW) got the job done with a very strong performance completing the race in 1:08 hours."

Australian SUP Title Results:

SUP Surfing:

Open Men
1. Wesley Fry (NSW)
15.40 - Won by 4.63
2. Indy Rose (NSW)
10.77 - Needed 9.23
3. Peter Tomsett (WA)
9.04 - Comb. 15.41
4. Blaire Moore (NSW)
8.10 - Comb. 15.41

Open Women
1. Skyla Rayner (NSW)
15.60 - Won by 4.93
2. Hannah Finlay-Jones (NSW)
10.67 - Needed 9.9
3. Keale Dorries (QLD)
9.44 - Needed 9.73
4. Jacenta McKenna (WA)
8.10 - Comb. 15.61

O40 Men
1. Marty Cole (NSW)
14.74 - Won by 3.97
2. Jeremy Corne (NSW)
10.77 - Needed 8.64
3. Troy Ashton (VIC)
10.03 - Needed 8.91
4. Richard Feeney (NSW)
8.17 - Comb. 14.75

O40 Women
1. Rebecca Dunning (NSW)
12.83 - Won by 5.7
2. Storm Wheatley (NSW)
7.13 - Needed 9.03
3. Lesa Prowse - NSW)
6.43 - Needed 9.5
4. Lucy Bell (VIC)
5.60 - Comb. 12.84

O50 Men
1. Jason Barbour (NSW)
12.47 - Won by 1.03
2. Trafford Harris (SA)
11.44 - Needed 6.6
3. Blaire Moore (NSW)
10.63 - Needed 6.35
4. Hamish Robinson (TAS)
4.20 - Comb. 12.48

O50 Women
1. Lesa Prowse (NSW)
9.67 - Won by 0.41
2. Dimity Faulkner (QLD)
9.26 - Needed 4.65
3. Madeline Rayner (NSW)
7.26 - Needed 5.35
4. Juanita Read (QLD)
5.20 - Needed 7.07
5. Lisa Cross (NSW)
3.63 - Needed 7.67

10ft Open Men
1.  Wesley Fry (NSW)
14.37 - Won by 1.5
2. Marty Cole (NSW)
12.87 - Needed 7.91
3. Andrew Cassidy (NSW)
12.27 - Needed 8.01
4. Liam McCafferty (VIC)
8.26 - Comb. 14.38

10ft Open Women
1. Emma Webb (VIC)
14.73 - Won by 0.96
2. Keale Dorries (QLD)
13.77 - Needed 7.57
3. Hannah Finlay-Jones (NSW)
12.30 - Needed 8.56
4. Skylar Rayner (NSW)
10.56 - Needed 9.1

O60 10ft Men
1. Richard Finlay-Jones (NSW)
11.63 - Won by 0.2
2. Michael Jenkins (VIC)
11.43 - Needed 5.81
3. Shane Lynch (QLD)
10.43 - Needed 6.31
4. Phill Baggs (NSW)
6.37 - Needed 8.13

O50 Men LB SUP
1. Andrew Cassidy (NSW)
14.00 - Won by 2.57
2. Crawford Olney (WA)
11.43 - Needed 7.77
3. Liam McCafferty (VIC)
7.56 - Needed 8.47
4. Paul Lomas (NSW)
6.13 - Comb. 14.01

O40 Women LB SUP
1. Emma Webb (VIC)
13.67 - Won by 4.07
2. Rebecca Dunning (NSW)
9.60 - Needed 8.57
3. Dimity Faulkner (QLD)
8.00 - Needed 9.67
4. Lucy Bell (VIC)
5.57 - Comb. 13.68

Technical Race:
1. Lee Johnson (NSW)
2. Brett Baber (NSW)
3. Ke'ale Dorries (QLD)

Open Men
1. Jonathan Hagan (QLD)
2. Indy Rose (NSW)

Open Women
1.  Ke'ale Dorries (QLD)
2. Hannah Finlay-Jones (NSW)

O40 Men
1. Shane Lynch (QLD)
2. Jinbo Dong (NSW)

O40 Women
1. Lucy Bell (VIC)
2. Juanita Read (QLD)

O50 Men
1. Lee Johnson (NSW)
2. Brett Baber (NSW)
3. Peter Jackson (VIC)
4. Scott Burton (NSW)

Prone Open Men
1. Richard Finlay-Jones (NSW)

Australian SUP Titles, Marathon Race Results:

Open Men
1. Ty Judson (NSW)
2. Johnathan Hagan (QLD)
3. Mike Hayes (NSW)

Open Women
1. Ke'ale Dorries (QLD)

O40 Men
1. Robin Hooton (NSW)
2. Shane Lynch (QLD)
3. Jinbo Dong (NSW)

O50 Men
1. Lee Johnson (NSW)
2. Brett Baber (NSW)
3. Dave Warner (VIC)
4. Peter Jackson (VIC)

Prone Open Men
1. Kobe Schulz (QLD)
2. Cade Wood (QLD)
3. Seth Wood (QLD)
4. Will Schetter (QLD)

Keep up to date with results and information on the Australian SUP Titles website or follow the live scores via LiveHeats.

The Australian SUP Titles are proudly supported by Shoalhaven City Council, Le Tan, Jim Beam and Surfing NSW.