August 16 - 22, 2020: Issue 462


2020 NSW School Titles Finishes With A Bang At Coffs Harbour: Barrenjoey High School Student Cedar Leigh Jones Wins!

Cedar in action  - photos by Ethan Smith/Surfing NSW

Wednesday, 12 August 2020
Report by Surfing NSW

Byron Stapleton (Kincumber High School) and Cedar Leigh-Jones (Barrenjoey High School) have taken out the Under-19 NSW Schools Titles in punchy one-to-two-foot conditions on what was the final day in the Woolworths NSW Junior Titles pres. by Ocean and Earth. 

Byron Stapleton (Kincumber High School) appeared to follow the lead of fellow Avoca local and 2020 Under-18 NSW Champion Lennox Chell, when he took top honours in the Under-19 Boys NSW Schools Titles. Stapleton shone in the windy peaks, finding a handful of punchy corners that allowed for a multitude of clean and precise backhand snaps. Stapleton finished the final with a respectable 13.53 two-wave heat total to claim the win by a slim 0.16 margin ahead of fellow goofy-footer Saxon Reber (NBSC Balgowlah). 

Saxon Reber in action - photo by Ethan Smith/Surfing NSW

Cedar Leigh-Jones (Barrenjoey High) put on an impressive display of surfing in the Under-19 Girls to claim the victory. The northern beaches natural-footer linked together a chain of impressive turns and carves to notch up a respectable 12.60 two-wave total and ensure a win in the 2020 NSW Schools Titles returned to Sydney’s northern beaches. This Under-19 Girls final is Leigh-Jones’ second final in three days, having claimed the runner-up position in the Under-18 Girls state title division on Monday.

On Monday August 10th, Lily MacDonald (Freshwater) took out the top honours in the Under-18 division at the Woolworths NSW Junior State Titles pres. by Ocean and Earth at Sawtell Beach. Lily Macdonald (Freshwater) fought a tight battle with her fellow finalists to claim the coveted Under-18 Girls title. The exciting natural-footer picked off a handful of decent righthanders in the final to post a solid 13.93 two-wave heat total and get the win by a slim 0.2 margin ahead of fellow northern beaches surfer Cedar Leigh-Jones (Avalon) who was unable to muster up 5.94 wave score needed Macdonald’s lead.

Kyla Whitfield (Narrabeen Sports High) was also among the place-getters for the 2020 NSW Schools Titles.

All finals results can be seen below. For earlier competition visit last Issue's 2020 Woolworths NSW Junior State Titles Pres. By Ocean and Earth by Surfing NSW. 

See all event results here

The event saw some of NSW’s best junior surfers competing for a coveted state title when the event kicks off from the 5th – 12th August 2020. 

Unlike previous years, where all qualifiers for the Woolworths NSW Junior State Titles pres. by Ocean and Earth were determined by eight individual regional titles, the 2020 event will invite all junior competitors to enter in their respective age divisions. 

The last two days of the event comprised the NSW School Surfing Titles. 2020 was the tenth year Surfing NSW combined the NSW School Surfing Titles into the event. 

Competitors were vying for an NSW Junior Title and in turn, earn their position into the upcoming 2020 Australian Junior Surfing Titles, which will take place in Queensland at the end of the year.

Former competitors in the NSW Junior State Titles pres. by Ocean and Earth include current World Surf League (WSL) Championship Tour (CT) surfers Owen, Mikey and Tyler Wright, Sally Fitzgibbons, Matt Wilkinson, Wade Carmichael and Connor O'Leary. 

The was fully mobile in the Coffs Harbour area with Macauleys, Park Beach, Diggers, Gallows and Sawtell all venue options. 

The Woolworths NSW Junior State Titles pres. by Ocean and Earth adhered to strict COVID-19 policies and regulations outlined by the NSW Government. All Surfing NSW events are in line with the current NSW public health order and we work with Sport NSW and NSW Office of Sport on all plans. Surfing NSW have developed a COVID safety plan to ensure the safety of all staff, participants and local stakeholders.

Please click here for our regularly updated Surfing NSW events COVID safety plan. 

For further information on our protocols and guidelines please refer to the and Office of Sport website here. 

The Woolworths NSW Junior Titles pres. by Ocean and Earth was proudly supported by Woolworths, Ocean and Earth, Coffs Harbour City Council, Mothernest, Reflections Holiday Park and Surfing NSW.

Under-19 Boys

1 – Byron Stapleton (Kincumber High School)
2 – Saxon Reber (NBSC Balgowlah)
3 – Jarvis Earle (Cronulla High School)
4 – Sunny Whitby-Otto (Newcastle High School)


Boys presentation - photo by Ethan Smith/Surfing NSW

Under-19 Girls
1 – Cedar Leigh-Jones (Barrenjoey High)
2 – Amelie Bourke (St. Francis Xavier)
3 – Kyla Whitfield (Narrabeen Sports High)
4 – Lily Macdonald (NBSC Freshwater)

First Champions Crowned At The 2020 NSW School Titles

Tuesday, 11 August 2020
Report by Surfing NSW

Lennix Smith (Illawarra Sports High) and Rosie Smart (Bishop Druitt College) have taken out the Under-16 division at the NSW School Surfing Titles after an exciting day of action in four-to-five foot conditions.

Local competitor Rosie Smart (Bishop Druitt College) claimed her second NSW State Title in three days, taking out the Under-16 Girls division. In the low scoring final, the local goofy-footer was able to gain the upper hand in the heat on the strength of a 7.83 wave score that allowed her to have an edge over her opposition. Smart will represent her school and NSW at the Australian Junior Surfing Titles that are scheduled to take place later in 2020. 

Lennix Smith (Illawarra Sports High) ensured he’d head back to Illawarra with an NSW Junior Title for the second year on the trot, taking out the Under-16 Boys NSW School Surfing Titles. Smith showed moments of brilliance over the course of his campaign, posting a handful of decent scores and was able to use the momentum to claim the final with a 12.93 two-wave heat total. 

All finals results can be seen below.

Under-16 Boys

1 – Lennix Smith (Illawarra Sports High)
2 – Xavier Bryce (Narrabeen Sports High)
3 – Mannix Greentree-Squires (Illawarra Sports High)
4 – Dane Henry (Lindisfarne Anglican Grammar)

Xavier Bryce -  photo by Josh Brown/Surfing NSW

Under-16 Girls
1 – Rosie Smart (Bishop Druitt College)
2 – Juniper Harper (Byron Bay High School)
3 – Bonnie Hills (Woolgoolga High School)
4 – Oceanna Rogers (Warilla High School)

Kyla Whitfield (Narrabeen Sports High) - photo by Ethan Smith/Surfing NSW
Lily Macdonald (NBSC Freshwater) - photo by Ethan Smith/Surfing NSW