October 14 - 20, 2018: Issue 379


2018 Woolworths surfer groms series wraps up NSW leg in Kiama 

Fletcher Wins again! - photo by Shannon Glasson / Surfing NSW



Sunday, 14 October 2018

Seven new champions were crowned today at the Woolworths Surfer Groms Comps Series presented by Pic’s Peanut Butter, following an exciting day of surfing in two-to-four foot waves at Bombo Beach. 

Taking out his second Woolworths Surfer Groms Comps Series presented by Pic’s Peanut Butter title for the year, Nate Hopkins (Noraville, NSW) put on an exciting display of forehand carves and snaps to claim the Under-14 Boys division. The Central Coast goofy-footer posted a respectable 12.94 two-wave heat total to claim victory for the second time this year. 

Keira Buckpitt (Culburra, NSW) ensured a title would remain on the NSW south coast, taking out the Under-14 Girls. The Culburra natural-footer put on an impressive performance in the final to notch up a decent 13.00 two-wave heat total and take the victory ahead of Holly Wishart (Gerringong), Oceanna Rogers (Shell Cove) and Clara McDonald (Kiama, NSW) who claimed second, third and fourth respectively. 

Keira Buckpitt photo by Shannon Glasson / Surfing NSW. 

Fletcher Kelleher (Freshwater, NSW) continued his perfect run of victories in the Woolworths Surfer Groms Comps Series presented by Pic’s Peanut Butter claiming his fourth win from as many events. Kelleher put on a dominant performance in the final, posting a 16.2 two-wave heat total to take the win. 

Fletcher Kelleher- photo by Shannon Glasson / Surfing NSW. 

Ruby Rockstar Trew (Seaforth, NSW) claimed another title for the Northern Beaches, taking out the Under-12 Girls division. Trew claimed two wins across her dual finals to end up on the top of the leaderboard. 

All other finals results can be found below. 

Regarded as one of the major stepping stones in the development of young Australian surfers, the 10-event Woolworths Surfer Groms Comps Series presented by Pic’s Peanut Butter caters for surfers from Under 8 to Under 14 and will be held in New South Wales, Queensland, Victoria, Western Australia, Tasmania and South Australia over summer. 

As an added bonus, the respective winners of the Under 14 boys’ and girls’ divisions from each event will receive an invite to attend an all-expenses-paid, three-day Woolworths Surf Camp at the Surfing Australia High-Performance Centre (HPC). For the South Australian, Victorian and Tasmanian events, the Woolworths Surf Camp prize will be awarded to the highest place Under-14 Boy and Girl who reside in that respective State. 

Specialty awards to be provided at each event include the Woolworths Fresh Wave (boy & girl), Pic’s Peanut Butter Star Performers (boy & girl) and AirAsia Air of the Day. 

Each entrant will also receive a Woolworths Surfer Groms Comps Series presented by Pic’s Peanut surfboard sock for entering. 

The Woolworths Surfer Groms Comps Series presented by Pic’s Peanut Butter has helped to launch the careers of many of Australia's most promising junior surfers with almost 800 children set to take part in the 2018/19 event series. 

Under-14 Boys

1 – Nate Hopkins (Noraville, NSW)
2 – Xavier Bryce (Mona Vale, NSW)
3 – Dom Thomas (Swansea Heads, NSW)
4 – Cooper Collinge (Kiama Downs, NSW)

Under-14 Girls
1 – Keira Buckpitt (Culburra, NSW)
2  - Holly Wishart (Gerringong, NSW)
3 – Oceanna Rogers (Shell Cove, NSW)
4 – Clara McDonald (Kiama, NSW)

Under-12 Boys
1 – Fletcher Kelleher (Freshwater, NSW)
2 – Sol Gruendling (Queenscliff, NSW)
3 – Kash Smith (Barrack Point, NSW)
4 – Koby Jackson (Lake Tabourie, NSW)

Under-12 Girls
1 – Ruby Rockstar Trew (Seaforth, NSW)
2 – Abilgail Hall (Avoca, NSW)
3  - Keira Puckeridge

Under-10 Boys
1 – Taj Air (Thirroul, NSW)
2 – Sullivan Tucker (Freshwater, NSW)
3 – Ben Zanatta Creagh (Dee Why, NSW)
4 – Jacob Hall (Avoca, NSW)

Under-10 Girls
1 – Evie Fisher (Gymea Bay, NSW)
2 – Lani Cairncross (Kiama Downs, NSW)
3 – Jada Larsen (Kiama Downs, NSW)
4 – Alice Hodgson (Kiama Downs, NSW)

Under-8 Mixed
1 – Cruz Air (Thirroul, NSW)
2 – Jay Whitfield (Maroubra, NSW)
3 – Jasper Glossop (Broadwater, WA)
4 –Hugo Harrington (Botany, NSW)

AirAsia Wave Of The Day
Day One: Jackson Grimshaw
Day Two: Cruz Air

Pic’s Peanut Butter Performer Award
Day One: Lennix Smith
Day Two: Holly Wishart
Woolworths Fresh Wave Award
Day One: Fletcher Kelleher
Day Two: Evie Fisher

Woolworths Surfer Groms Comps 2018/2019 Series presented by Pic’s Peanut Butter schedule:
EVENT 1 - Cronulla, NSW - Sept 1 - 2, 2018
EVENT 2 - Northern Beaches, NSW - Sept 8 - 9, 2018
EVENT 3 - Coffs Harbour, NSW - Oct 7 - 8, 2018
EVENT 4 - Kiama, NSW - Oct 13 - 14, 2018
EVENT 5 - Fleurieu Peninsula, SA - Nov 3, 2018
EVENT 6 - Ocean Grove, VIC - Nov 17 - 18, 2018
EVENT 7 - Sunshine Coast, QLD - Dec 8 - 9, 2018
EVENT 8 - Gold Coast, QLD - Jan 9 - 10, 2019
EVENT 9 -Trigg, WA - Jan 26 - 27, 2019
EVENT 10 - Clifton Beach, TAS - Feb 23, 2019