October 4 - 10, 2015: Issue 234

   Lock Crowther Multihull Regatta 2015: Hosted by RMYC Multihull Division 

Div. 1 starts first Inshore Race of Lock Crowther Regatta - Saturday 3rd October, 2015 

Established in 1996 the Lock Crowther Regatta has been hosted annually by the RMYC as a tribute to Australia’s pioneer multihull designer. Mr. Crowther’s designs date back to the early sixties and can still be seen in most harbours around the world. The LCMR offers Multihull owners competitive racing for Grand Prix Multis as well as cruisers. An invitation is extended also to “off the beach” multihulls to participate and Dick Clarke, past Commodore of the Palm Beach Sailing Club, took up the challenge and had his flyer ‘Bad Dog’ ready for a run across the water yesterday morning.

The rest of the fleet comprises Division 1, boats sailing with spinnakers or other downwind sails not attached to the forestay and Division 2, known as the Cruising Division, boats sailing with working sails only. Spinnakers or other offwind sails are not permitted. 

The regatta is sailed in the waters of Pittwater, Broken Bay, and the Pacific Ocean between Terrigal and Long Reef commencing with the Offshore Ocean Race on the Friday and two Inshore races on the Saturday and Sunday, morning and afternoon.

Division 1 Race 1 starts off the RMYC Broken Bay, to Towlers Bay, Stokes Point then round an Orange cylindrical inflatable buoy laid north of Palm Beach between Barrenjoey Headland and West Head approximately in the middle of Pittwater, back to Mackerel Beach, then to Stokes Point again and finishes at Mackeral.

Division 1 Race 2 begins at Mackeral, then to the east side of Lion Island, then around an Orange cylindrical inflatable buoy laid approx. 600 metres south east of Juno Point and finishes back outside the Royal Motor Yacht Club Broken Bay.

Division 2, the cruisers cruising, don’t have so many marks to round and seem content to test other skills and knowledge of wind and sail.
They will be sailing again today, with a Presentation and Celebration Dinner being held tonight, Sunday October 4th. 

Alan Brand and Stephen Barton, who work tirelessly each year to make this regatta such a big success, reported on Friday that Jason Waterhouse is guest speaker at the Sunday evening presentation dinner. Many will be aware of Jason's impressive sailing credentials including current international number one ranked ISAF Olympic Multihull Class Nacra 17 skipper and current no 2 ranked Extreme 40 Catamaran Skipper.

Stephen ('As this is a Briefing I'll keep it as Brief as possible ...') Barton with Alan Brand

Full report of Mr. Warehouse’s address the results of the Lock Crowther Multihull Regatta 2015 next Issue.

Some pictures from yesterday morning run as this Issue's Pictorial and are available for participants to help themselves to HERE

Lock Crowther Multihull Regatta 2015

BOAT NAME                                   SAIL NO                       SKIPPER                    FROM           DESIGN                            STATE
ALISIOS                                           11811                            Geoff Kitchen             RPAYC         Jethrow 914                       NSW
BAD DAD                                        3                                     Leon Dellit                 RMYC           Fusion 40                           NSW
BLUEY ZARZOFF                          BZ2                                Joe Finch                   RMYC           Burgess                              NSW
BULLETPROOF                             MK61                            John Power                MCYC           Schionning G Force          NSW
COCONUT AIRLINES                    600                                David Bishop             RMYC           Crowther 12.2                    NSW
DE JA VU                                        10147                            Ron Bickerstaff          RMYC           Seawind                             NSW
DOG WATCH                                   W111                            Ken Davies               WASC          Turissimo 11                      NSW
EAT DESSERT FIRST                   75                                  Keith Chidzey             RMYCPH     Sprint 750                         NSW
FOXY                                                W102                            Shane Russell            WASC          Lynx 8.8                             NSW
LUKIM YU                                        101                                 Robin Ottowa             RMYC           Nusa Tiga 9                       NSW
NUSA DUA                                      01                                   Bill Salisbury              RMYC           Barrick                               NSW
OUI OUI!                                           M-23                              Stephen Barton          RMYC           Multi-23                              NSW
PUMBAA                                         110                                 Neville McElroy          RMYC           Farrier F82r                       NSW
QUICKSTEP                                   600                                Jason Geddes            RMYC           Crowther                            NSW
SUMMIT                                           09                                   Barry Allertz                RMYC           Corsair F28                      NSW
TE ARAWA                                     N81                                Jim Geddes                 RMYCBB    Spindrift 45                       NSW
THE COUNTESS                           52007                            Brian Marshall             RMYC          Chincogan 52                   NSW
TOP GUN                                        AUS888                         Darren Drew               RMYC          Crowther 50 Catamaran  NSW
TWO TRIBES                                  013                                 Paul Nudd                   WASC         Egan 1319 9.2m Cat       NSW
WINDSPEED 31                            CW31                             Greg Bridges             BBYC           Crowther Windspeed 31  NSW
WINDSWEPT 2                              V50                                 Don Macintosh           NA                Crowther                            NSW
XENA                                               005                                 Alan Brand                  RMYC           Dash 750                          NSW

Lock Crowther OTB Multihull Regatta 2015
AClass    BAD DOG    AUS938    Dick Clarke        PBSC

Pictures A J Guesdon, 2015.